Seminars

The Institute runs a popular research seminar program with visiting speakers delivering papers on a broad range of topics.  Meetings are held in the New Seminar Room, St John’s House, 71 South Street, St Andrews (unless otherwise stated).  Drinks and nibbles are served from 5:15pm.

Institute of Scottish Historical Research Seminars Semester 1, 2018-19

Semester one

Thursday 20 September (week 1)
Dr Mary-Anne Constantine (University of Wales)
‘The Many Voices of Thomas Pennant: Writing Travel in Late 18th Century Britain’

Thursday 4 October (week 3) Annual Smout Lecture
NEW ARTS LECTURE THEATRE, 5.30PM
Professor Charles Withers (University of Edinburgh)
‘Geographies of the Prime Meridian: Ruling the World – from St Andrews, Paris, Washington…’

Thursday 18 October (week 5)
Professor Michael Brown (University of St Andrews)
‘Leading the Realm’s Estate: Royal Authority and the transformation of fifteenth-century Scotland’

Thursday 8 November (week 8)
Dr Jemma Field (Brunel University)
‘The Political Wardrobe: Anna of Denmark and the uses of Clothing and Jewellery at the courts of James VI and I’

Thursday 22 November (week 10)
Dr Alison Duncan (University of St Andrews)
‘Social Position – networks, status and the physical city in Georgian Edinburgh’


Semester two

Thursday 31 January (week 1)
Postgraduate work in progress panel

Thursday 14 February (week 3)
Rory Scothorne (University of Edinburgh)

‘“Stop the World”: Intellectuals and Internationalism in 1970s Scotland’
Thursday 28 February (week 5)

Diane Watters (Historic Environment Scotland)
‘“Fife Looks Ahead”: Glenrothes and the New Town movement in Scotland’

Thursday 14 March (week 7)
Dr Corey Gibson (University of Groningen)
‘“The Scotland in which there is no repetition”: Independence and the Literary Imaginary, from the Interwar Renaissance to IndyRef2’

Thursday 11 April (week 9)
Dr Amy Blakeway (University of Kent)
‘The Long Shadow of War: 1550s Scotland and the aftermath of the Rough Wooings’

Thursday 25 April (week 11)
Murray McLean (University of Glasgow)
‘From Kirking to Kilting: Weddings and the Invention of (Post) Modern Scotland’